Save the date for the 51st Annual OAPA CME Conference. Oct 2-4, 2024 – At a NEW venue – Embassy Suites Downtown OKC – 741 N Phillips Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73104. More information HERE.

Awards 2020

OAPA 2020 Awards Presentation Videos

PA of the Year

Tara Watson, PA-C

Tara has served the OAPA most recently as President during the 2019-2020 year, which was
one of the biggest and most chaotic legislative years we have ever had.  She never complained.  She was everyone’s cheerleader, constantly keeping the momentum positive and fruitful.  Tara was always willing to jump in and help no matter the day or time.  She was eager to learn, serve, join, and lead.  Tara is most definitely a large part of our success during the past year and we are blessed to have her in Oklahoma!

Robert Havener, Jr Memorial Scholarship Award

Karisa L. Eustace PA-S2
President, Class of 2021
Physician Assistant Program
Oklahoma City University

Robert Havener, Jr., PA-C

This year the award is honoring Robert Havener, Jr., PA-C who passed away this past year after a long illness. Bob was a 1984 graduate of the University of Oklahoma-OKC PA Program. All of his PA career was spent at McBride Clinic and he was loved and appreciated by so many. For those who knew Big Bob he had a wonderful sense of humor and could make anyone laugh. He always saw the funny side of life. Bob was also a big help to the staff during conference time and the best announcer we ever had giving away door prizes at the end to the conference. He is missed by many!

Rural PA of the Year

Mary Boerner, PA-C

Mary has been in service as a PA at Choctaw Nation for 30 years, providing OB/GYN care, educating future PA’s, and being a productive member of her community in Talihina. This award is long over-due for Mary.

Physician of the Year

Mark Kowalski, MD

Dr. Kowalski has been a long-time friend of the PA profession, taking on prospective and current PA students for many years.  In the last year, as we pushed for modernized legislation for PAs, Dr. Kowalski attended our legislative event, being a strong advocate as a physician for the PA profession.  Dr. Kowalski serves on the Oklahoma State Medical Association where he serves his profession with integrity and continues to be a advocate for PAs as well.

Honorary PA Award

Representative John Pfeiffer

Representative Pfeiffer was key to the passage of the revisions to the PA Act
during the 2020 legislative session. He is a strong supporter of the PA profession
and was a committed, determined leader in helping achieve compromise with all
the stakeholders. He never waivered in “getting the job done” on behalf of OAPA
and its members.